Looking for first telescope

We all started somewhere! We are a friendly bunch! Most of your questions can be posted here, but if you are interested in Astrophotography please use the new Beginner Astrophotography forum. The response time will be much better.
MattDI Great Britain
Earth Ambassador
Articles: 0

Looking for first telescope

Post by MattDI »

Hi all,

I’m very new to stargazing and telescopes in general, however I’m a keen physics and astronomy nerd. I am looking to get my first telescope, the only issue is I’m on a very very limited budget. I’ve seen some on EBay, but a quick google search lead me here and it tells me not to buy the one I was going to, which was the Celestron power seeker 127 EQ.

So here is where I’m at, I’d like something fairly decent, but happy to go second hand. Something I can see a fair few planets with, as closely as possible!

My budget is really only around £100, give or take a bit either side.

It doesn’t need to be something I travel with particularly. It would be nice if they were slightly smaller for space reasons, but again not massively important.

I’d be interested to hear if anyone can recommend brands, ranges or anything that could help me in the search!

Many thanks,
Matt
JayTee United States of America
Universal Ambassador
Articles: 2

TSS Awards Badges

TSS Photo of the Day

Re: Looking for first telescope

Post by JayTee »

Hi Matt,

Given your skill level and your limited budget I would highly suggest starting with a nice pair of binoculars. A 10x50 set of binoculars is a great place to start. They gather a significant amount of light, they have a wide field of view and they give you the opportunity to learn the night sky before you dive in with a telescope.

Cheers,
Last edited by JayTee on Tue Apr 02, 2024 11:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
∞ Primary Scopes: #1: Celestron CPC1100 #2: 8" f/7.5 Dob #3: CR150HD f/8 6" frac
∞ AP Scopes: #1: TPO 6" f/9 RC #2: ES 102 f/7 APO #3: ES 80mm f/6 APO